MU E-Mail Login Give to MU MU Blackboard Login MU QEP MU on Facebook MU on Twitter MU on YouTube MU Publications on Issuu MU Photosets on Flickr

 » About the Center

 » Programs
 » Related Links

MU Home » Academics » Reeves School of Business » Center for Entrepreneurship

Economic Outlook Symposium

2012 Economic Outlook Symposium Award Winners

Entrepreneur of the Year
Scott and Janet Cameron
Business Person of the Year
Jimmy Townsend
Greater Good Award
March F. Riddle
Economics and Business Alumni of theYear
Colleen Wood '96


The Economic Outlook Symposium was the first project that the CFE ever undertook. In December of 1973, a panel discussion concerning the economic prospects for Cumberland County, the state of North Carolina, and the entire nation in the year to come was devised. It is tradition at this event that we enlist two speakers; one speaker concentrates on the local economic outlook and another speaker concentrates on the national economic outlook. Over the years, the program has grown to include a celebration honoring distinguished members of the business community. Awards are given to the "Business Person of the Year," "Entrepreneurs of the Year," "Greater Good Award," and the "Alumni Business Person of the Year." Since Symposiums first year, every president and CEO from Bank of America, BB&T, First Citizens, Wachovia, First South Bank, Peoples Bank, First Union National Bank, Triangle Bank, UCB, SNB NCNB, and RBC Centura have attended and have given outlooks. The Symposium, which takes place every fall, draws record numbers every year.

Nominations for the Entrepreneur of the Year Award, Business Person of the Year Award, and Greater Good Award are now being accepted. Click here to download a nomination form in PDF format.



40th Annual Economic Outlook and Stock Market Symposium

Methodist University's Center for Entrepreneurship's 40th annual Economic Outlook Symposium Dinner and Awards ceremony will be held on November 14, 2013.

More Information

Click here to purchase tickets!

Contact Marty Cayton for sponsorship information and event details.